Stonepits

The “Marbres de France” quarries are located, in Saint Pons de Thomières in the south-west of France (Languedoc-Roussillon). Renowned since antiquity, they have been artisanally operated for centuries and since the beginning of the  twentieth century with modern extraction techniques. “Marbres de France” has an extraction authorization of 45,000 tons per year according to government decree – 18 December 2008.

Covering an area of ​​more than 150 acres, the open pit quarry has several areas of various textures and colors (360 million years old) of exceptional quality. The extraction techniques used are the most efficient: several machines diamond wire and shearing, at the forefront of technical progress, are used in permanence and ensure optimization of working methods, safety and quality.

History

The proven existence of the quarries of “Marbres de France” dates back to Roman times. The marble was then used for the tiling of baths and the decoration of the rich patrician houses. It was also used for making medieval sarcophagi and altar ex-votos.

References

The marble of Saint-Pons (now “Marbres of France”) is present around the world. It has crossed the centuries and made its mark on various legendary monuments. It owes its fame to its exceptional aesthetic and technical quality

Location

  • 34220 Saint-Pons-de-Thomières, France
  • + 33 4 67 23 86 65
  • https://www.marbres-de-france.fr/
  • See directions

Carrières

La carrière des « Marbres de France » est située sur la commune de Saint-Pons de Thomières, dans le Sud-Ouest de la France (Languedoc-Roussillon). Réputée dès l’antiquité, elle fut exploitée artisanalement durant des siècles et industriellement depuis le début du XXè siècle. La carrière des « Marbres de France » possède une autorisation d’extraction de 45.000 tonnes par an (arrêté préfectoral du 18 décembre 2008).

D’une surface de plus de 60 hectares, la carrière à ciel ouvert comporte plusieurs zones de gisement de teintes variées (datant de 360 millions d’années) d’une exceptionnelle qualité. Les techniques d’extraction mises en oeuvre sont les plus performantes : plusieurs machines à fil diamanté et haveuses, à la pointe du progrès technique, sont utilisées en permanence et assurent une optimisation des méthodes  de travail, de sécurité et de qualité.

Histoire

L’existence attestée des carrières de « Marbres de France » remonte à l’époque romaine. Le marbre servait alors au dallage des thermes et au décor des riches demeures patriciennes. Il fut aussi utilisé pour la fabrication de sarcophages médiévaux ou d’ex-votos d’autels.

Références

Le marbre de Saint-Pons devenu « Marbres de France » est présent aux « quatre coins du monde ». Il a traversé les siècles et marqué de son empreinte les plus beaux monuments. Il doit sa renommée à son exceptionnelle qualité esthétique et technique.

Emplacement

  • 34220 Saint-Pons-de-Thomières, France
  • + 33 4 67 23 86 65 ou +33 7 85 16 02 33